//
you're reading...
Writing

Let´s Brake the Rules!


rules

Image by jaakko.hakulinen via Flickr

Braking rules is fun. Every kid have done it But when we grew up we kind of forgot how to do it. Well, sometimes we maybe try to u ourselves in on a but, before anyone else and we call that to break the rules. But honestly – how much revolution is there within us?

I love to break rules in life just as much in my writing. And actually first of all I have to break them in life before I even get the idea of doing it in my writing. So how do I  break rules? Well, first of all there are different kind of rules. We have laws and social rules, and the social rules are divided into two pieces – the ones we talk about and the ones you are expected to follow even if no-one told you about them. I love to break them!

For example: I sometimes sit on the toilet and do my poo-poo at the same time as I eat or drink something. Yes, it´s true! Other great examples is my teacher from high school She used to dress herself in a lilac wig and a big plastic nose. She did the same to her little kid. And then they went on the tram. Everybody was looking, and they all pretended not to see a thing. It is as if it would be forbidden to look at strange people.

These ideas are great to take with me into my writing. When characters do strange things my readers will remember them. One I wrote a story about a security officer using her spare time to steal other people´s property. That was a really fun story, and I made some people laugh!

In what way are you braking rules, and how are your characters doing it?

About BMA-student

BMA-student

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

