//
you're reading...
Genre, Writing, Writing Craft

(W)right to Freedom


Cover of "Freedom Writers (Full Screen Ed...

Cover of Freedom Writers (Full Screen Edition)

Every time I tell people I’m an author, they ask what kind of books I write. I guess I’m supposed to answer them with a genre; fantasy, horror, romance or maybe science fiction. It annoys me every time. Why do I have to limit myself and my art by putting myself and my work within boundries? I write good stories, isn’t that good enough?

When I’m done, feel free to put my book within your own boundries. But for now, let me out! Let me be free!

About BMA-student

BMA-student

Discussion

4 thoughts on “(W)right to Freedom

  1. That’s what you should tell them, that you write good stories.

    Posted by Evelyn N. Alfred | November 26, 2011, 10:45 pm
  2. No artist, whether a wordsmith or from any other art form should have to set boundaries to his/her art. Justifying art is like putting a Van Gogh painting such as “Les Tournesols” behind a window pane in a dark room to protect it from thieves and for the sole benefit of a so-called expert/collector…

    Explanation and ordering in this and that box are cheap tricks to avoid imagination contaminating the rest of the world…

    So you go and tell them: “what do you care?” because if someone asks you what genre you are writing, that someone does not know anything – nor care ^_^ When people do not understand they need labels to feel safe 😛

    Loved the book/movie poster you used to illustrate your words… perfect fit I thought 😉

    Posted by Clairepeek | February 22, 2012, 4:40 pm

Leave a Reply

THIS SITE IS PROTECTED

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Kaleidoscope at FaceBook

