//
you're reading...
Diary

5 books


Books Books

Image via Wikipedia

Yesterday I was away on a Christmas dinner for our family. We were 15 people, a very small number of guest this year. We eat a normal Christmas table; ham, different kind of salted herring, smoked salmon, sausages, meet balls, some vegetables and a lot of candy. After that is was time for our yearly game. We have a very special way to give away Christmas gifts.

Every one buys something for a certain amount of money. 15 people meant 15 gifts on the table. Then everyone takes a small piece of paper out of a basket. The papers have a number on them. When everyone got their little piece of paper the game starts:

The person who got number 1 starts to open one of the Christmas gifts from the table. Then the person who got number 2 can take any of the gifts from the table, or the the gift that already is opened by person number 1. If person number one lost the Christmas gift, then he/she has to chose a new gift from the table.The number 3 does the same; a choice between the two gifts that already are opened or a new gift from the table. If he takes a gift from number 2, then the person who lost the gift can take the gift from number 1 or any gift from the table. A gift can change its owner 3 times. After that it is locked.

I had number 3 and took five books from another person. Later on the books were take from me. Therefor I took a box of chocolates from another person, but I lost them too. Since at least one gift had been moving since I lost the books, I was aloud to take them back. They were locked in my hands, and now I am the lucky owner of 5 book to read 🙂

The books are all in Swedish, one of them is a story about murderer and the other four about children growing up with abusive parents. I am really looking forward to read them. I love reading, and I think that reading also improves my writing. To read authors with different ways of expressing them selves helps me to develop my own voice and my way of writing.

About BMA-student

BMA-student

Discussion

3 thoughts on “5 books

  1. Our kids do this Christmas game at school, and half the kids come away crying because someone else got what they wanted, lol. For grown-ups though, I think this would be a great Christmas game! It sounds as if you and your family have some great traditions and a lot of love! Merry Christmas 🙂

    Posted by Neeks | December 19, 2011, 9:43 pm
    • Thanks for you nice comment, Neeks. Obviously it is a well known international game. But I must agree with you, maybe it is more for grown-ups than for kids LOL.
      I hope your kids will enjoy this game later on in life, because it is really fun if you just accept that things sometimes are meant to let go of…
      I´ll stop by at your blog now, to see what´s going on in your life. I really appreciate when people read my blog, and appreciate it enough to make a comment.
      /Maggie

      Posted by Magdalena Wiklund | December 19, 2011, 9:51 pm
  2. Well thanks Maggie, and thank you for the suggestion over at my blog. Picking different words from different people is a good idea.

    Posted by Neeks | December 21, 2011, 3:34 am

Leave a Reply

THIS SITE IS PROTECTED

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Kaleidoscope at FaceBook

