//
you're reading...
BookCrossing

A travelling book


English: Bookcrossing of Jane Austen's Emma ou...

Image via Wikipedia

Several years ago my husband brought me a book from town. He found it at the train station, as if someone had forgotten it there. Because he knows I love reading, he grabbed the book and gave it to me. On the cover of it there was a small notice telling me that the book was traveling. Hmm… A traveling book found at the train station? Interesting, isn´t it? I have heard that stories have their own lives, but travelling books? I opened the book… and there was a message for me.

The book my husband found was a BookCrossing book. The idea of BookCrossing is to create an international world wide library of free books for everyone. Anyone can become a member for free. I use to buy books and register them at BookCrossing. Then they get their own BookCrossing identification number (BCID). That makes it possible to identify that specific book, when it travels over the world. Then I write a short journal at the webpage, telling everyone where I will drop the book. It might be anywhere; at the train station, in a shop, in someones basket at the market or at a restaurant. Then I register the book as released at the webpage, and I let go of it. Anyone who finds it will find a short note in it, telling them what kind of book it is and to write a short journal at the bookcrossing webpage to let me know where the book was found, and where it is going. The book is traveling all over the world between people. I have dropped books in Sweden that ended up in China. Everyone who had that specific book in their hand can follow it, just reading the journals at the webpage.

I think it is really interesting to follow a book like that. I get to know how different people from different cultures think of the story it´s telling. Some people like the story, some don’t. Some people chose to become members of BookCrossing, some are just happy to leave an anonymous journal. And sometimes a book is gone for years, and then suddenly it turns up in another country and I will never know how it got there.

BookCrossing is connecting people and cultures to each other in a fun and relaxing way, and it´s letting everyone read books for free. I have released over 100 books so far, I have found about 10 I think, and I really enjoy to follow all “my” books when they travel over the world. Most of all, I like the fact that this brings stories into my life that I would never had chosen to read by my own choice. A new world has opened.

About Magdalena Wiklund

Leg. biomedicinsk analytiker och maker. Arbetar med transfusionsmedicin till vardags, forskar på antibiotikaresistens på fritiden. Jag skapade Sveriges största site för biomedicinska analytiker därför att detta verkligen är ett fantastiskt yrke som jag hoppas att fler ska intressera sig för.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “A travelling book

  1. I like this idea! We recently sold, donated and gave away over 50 boxes of books, but I hadn’t thought of putting any of them on a method of transport.

    Posted by Invisible Mikey | January 10, 2012, 8:14 am
  2. Wow… this is a brilliant- and I say again- BRILLIANT idea. Bookcrossing!- who would have thought something like this exist? By the way thank you for commenting and liking my little haikus 🙂 I will most definitely get rid of the apologizing part. I’m going to look into this some more because the way you described it made it sound and really even feel like an amazing experience. I knew there was some kind of miraculous reason why I enjoy books so much! My mother and brother think I have a problem but I have stuck to my guns and told them I am just passionate! Haha! Thank you very much again for commenting and letting me know about this.

    Posted by aemmabella | January 12, 2012, 11:49 am
    • Yes, I was very excited myself when I got that first book! Since then I´ve had many bookcrossing books in my hand. Some good, some bad, but all connecting me to other writers. Feel free to going, and if you do please tell me your username (nickname) at the site, so I can become a friend with you. I might send you a book 🙂
      Maggie

      Posted by Magdalena Wiklund | January 12, 2012, 12:09 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: I’ve registered with BookCrossing | Side Quest Publications - February 8, 2012

  2. Pingback: Friends, Books and Coffee « Kaleidoscope - March 25, 2012

Leave a Reply

