//
you're reading...
Characters, Writing, Writing Craft

People Are Characters


English: Photograph by Linda Molendijk (2001) ...

Image via Wikipedia

When I decided to join Project 365, trying to write one post every day this year, I read about a guy who already done it. For a whole year he went out meeting people, talking to them and taking photos of them. The he published his experience at his blog, everyday for the whole year. I thought, what a wonderful idea! That is a great way to get ideas to create characters in a story. I will probably do that some time myself.

I get the ideas to my characters from real people, off course. Thinking over my life I´ve met some really awful and some really lovely people. All very interesting. The grey people are the ones who disappear, the ones I already forgot. Let´s keep ourselves to the interesting ones!

Tommy Nilsson; a Swedish singer who kissed my lips when I gave him a red rose at the age of 15. He was 35 then, and really famous. Every time he came to my city, he got of the stage and started to talk with his fans! How many famous  people does that?

Crazy women; many women I´ve met are absolutely crazy. I can honestly say this even if I´m a woman myself. I cannot give you the names of them, but I´m happy to tell you all about their actions! Crazy women crashes their cars into a police officers motorbike after they have been asked to pull over. They ask unknown people what their preferences are because “you look that way.” They tell people lies until everyone believes them (includes themselves), and they try to sell their own children. I could write a whole post just about crazy women.

Grandfather; he is a wonderful man. At the age of 89 he uses the internet sending emails, calling me at Skype and participating in forums. He experienced the Second World War, and has great stories to tell. The german SS interrogated him because of a friendship with a jewish girl. He told the that she was just a friend and nothing else, and so he managed to survive.

Children; they are special just being children. They bite each other, scream out loudly as soon as they don´t get that ice cream, and then they try to fill your kitchen with water. They love dogs and cats, while they hate you for being who ever you happen to be. No matter how much you love them.

Market researchers; I hate them don´t you? They call you up at home a late Saturday afternoon asking you what shoe size you have, or when you visited your hairdresser last time. And if you don´t answer they just call you up over and over again, until you do. Don´t they have a life to live?

Ajahn Brahmavamso Mahathera; a buddhist monk also called Ajahn Brahm. He eats once a day, meditates for hours, is not allowed to be in physical contact with any woman, and he travels the world to talk about meditation. After 25 years as a monk he locked himself un into his hut and meditated for 6 months without any human contact.

The carrot man; once I had a friend who was a vegetarian. Our friendship ended when he started to scream at me in his own kitchen. He screamed: “We are killing the carrots, we are killing them! But you know, we also gotta eat!

And there are so many more people I could tell you about; the man who used his own house as wood while living in it, the government employee who brakes the law every day while working with law enforcement, the social worker with more problems the ten of his own clients all together ever had…
Oh, I have a lot to write about.

About BMA-student

BMA-student

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

