//
you're reading...
Book Reviews

Tuesdays with Morrie – by Mitch Albom


Cover of "Tuesdays with Morrie: An Old Ma...

Cover via Amazon

There are some great books out there, to read and enjoy. I must say that I use to really enjoy my books. For some people books are holy; they just stand there at the shelf. If you look at them it is impossible to see that anyone ever open them. My book are living with me. I bring the to the sauna, to the bath, to my bed, I read them while eating my dinner and you find stains, watermarks and broken spines if you have a look in my books. Anyone I love is going with me wherever I go. If not physically, then at least in my heart. Tuesdays with Morrie, written by Mitch Albom is the kind of book that always has been following me, wherever I have been.

Who We Really Are

Tuesdays with Morrie is about the relation between a young student named Mitch Albom and his old teacher, Morrie Schwartz who was a professor in sociology. Morrie is a very human man, the kind who goes to the disco to join the youths, dressed in a loose dress and dancing in his own very special way, without ever minding what other people might think of him. Anyway, Mitch gets his degree and goes out in life to live. But a few years later, he sees a story in the newspaper about his teacher professor Albom. It turns out that he is very sick – dying – and Mitch decides to visit him.

From that day Mitch sees Morrie every tuesday. Every time they see each other he gets a lesson about life from the old and experienced man, and they become very close friends. They talk about the world, about feeling sorry for yourself, missing someone, death, family life, feelings, being scared of getting old, money, love, marriage, culture, forgiveness, and about the perfect day. The last tuesday they see each other they say goodbye. Professor Morrie Albom dies.

My Reading Experience

This is a sad and happy story that happened for real. There is some information to get about Albom and Morrie on the Internet. Counting the pages it is a very short book, but anyone who reads it will learn  something of value, useful in their own life. The book gave me a lot o joy, but from time to time I was also crying. It made me think about my own life, my own values and ask myself questions. Why do people play this game of life, why do we become so unnatural for every year we get older? We are born unable to take care of our selves, but we are ashamed of having to get help with wiping our butt when we get old and sick. The book still stands in my shelf, and I will need ever give it away. I promise – the story will be there with you for ever.

Would you like to read some more of my Book Reviews?

About BMA-student

BMA-student

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Morrie – by Mitch Albom

  1. You’re right. What’s more, Tuesdays with Morrie is one of my favourite books, I’ve read it two or three times.

    Posted by Val | January 8, 2012, 2:21 am
    • Val,
      Thanks for taking the time to visit me blog and for all the advice given in the forums. I have done some changes to my blog, please feel free to comment.
      Yes, Tuesdays with Morrie is a great book that can be read over and over again. I think that if you give it a few years of a rest and then read it again, you will always see new things in the book. It´s just the way life is – we learn all the time, and the book is about life so our view of it changes. All the time 🙂
      I love your blog. Very nice art.
      Take care of your self and see you soon. Now, I will eat my breakfast (it´s 1 pm here) and then start to work, Im finishing my novel.
      Maggie

      Posted by Magdalena Wiklund | January 8, 2012, 11:59 am
  2. Great post! I really enjoyed your take on the book, I feel like everyone comes away from it with something different. You should also check out What Really Matters by Karen Wyatt (http://www.karenwyattmd.com/); it’s another inspiring book that gives life lessons from dying characters. Thanks again for your post, I really enjoy your blog!

    Posted by Emily | March 28, 2012, 7:57 pm
    • Emily,
      Thanks for your kind feedback. I´m happy you liked my review. The book is really great! I guess you have read it?
      I promise have allok at “What Really Matters” also, seems as a good book about an important matter. That´s thought I´m struggling with for the moment, in life actually.
      Thanks for the advice.
      Take Care, and be back soon.
      Maggie

      Posted by Magdalena Wiklund | March 28, 2012, 9:35 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: For One More Day by Mitch Albom « arlasworld - January 26, 2012

Leave a Reply

