//
you're reading...
Causerie, Creative Writing, Writing

When the Party´s Over


A paper kräftskiva lamp.

Image via Wikipedia

I have just returned from a very nice crayfish dinner. It´s interesting to see how people eat, especially something as complicated as crayfish. There´s a lot of fiddling and a hard shell to be broken up. Moreover, it´s a bit messy. How we eat maybe say something about our personality?

The lady in front of me picked up a nutcracker from her handbag, and tried – with compressed lips – to break into the crayfish on her plate. There was planning and perseverance. Another lady took the table knife and began to hit the food, as in the Stone Age. The sound of ringing the plate made ​​us all fall silent, waiting for the speech that never came. Others were on the label, and were neither seen or heard.

I´m one of those who want to be close to nature. I want to feel the crayfish! Break up the shell with my fingers, or teeth, feel it break down … anchored … and feel the saltiness drain out between my lips. I want it to be direct, here, now, messy, close and passionate! Bring in the dessert!

Perhaps we live our lives just the same way as we break in behind the shell of a crayfish? Some people take what they want from life as it is; making their own soul and fingers dirty with a burning desire, while others are still struggling to crack the nut in an analysis of what life really is. But the invisible people are still sitting out there on the park benches, sleeping in stairwells without ever being seen or heard.

I sincerely hope that my soul will be completely bedraggled, both with life’s saltiness and its sweetness, the day I fold up my napkin to leave the table.

About BMA-student

BMA-student

Discussion

5 thoughts on “When the Party´s Over

  1. Sounds like a tasty but challenging dish. 😉

    Posted by eof737 | January 30, 2012, 11:38 pm
  2. great read – this is the reason my husband doesn’t like eating seafood, he hates handling it and all the mess…me, I love it!…you’ve made me hungry for crayfish 🙂

    Posted by jmpix | January 31, 2012, 12:20 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Wikipedia crayfish | Iphonehelp411 - February 4, 2012

Leave a Reply

