//
you're reading...
Writing, Writing Craft, Writing Group, Writing Resources

The StoryMakers – A Writing Group for Adults


I´ve written an earlier post about the membership i had in one of the writing groups at Katharine Susannah Prichard Writers Center in Perth, Australia. Since I came back to Sweden I actually created an entirely new group for writers. There was no such thing where I live, so I simply put up some notes at the stores and outside the library asking if there are any other writers who would like to meet to share their writing.

English: Redstone Arsenal commander Maj. Gen. ...

Image via Wikipedia

Today I ´m a member of that writing group named The StoryMakers. We are a group of adults who met and created that group together, from scratch. We meet to share our writing with other authors, to listen to what others have written and to give and get constructive feedback. But we always start with some tea or coffee, a cake, before we read for each other. Our members are from 18 years of age and up, and we write everything between heaven and earth – short stories, haiku, biographies, prose and so on.

For me it feels enormously constructive and developing to socialize with other authors within this warm forum The StoryMakers have become. I get all this wonderful feedback, I´m improving as a writer while developing friendships with other like-minded people. We are close to eachother, having a lot of fun together. Read more about us in Swedish:  The StoryMakers. And Clairepeek is one of our members, visit her blog written in English to get some really good pieces to read. She will twist your mind!

About Magdalena Wiklund

Leg. biomedicinsk analytiker och maker. Arbetar med transfusionsmedicin till vardags, forskar på antibiotikaresistens på fritiden. Jag skapade Sveriges största site för biomedicinska analytiker därför att detta verkligen är ett fantastiskt yrke som jag hoppas att fler ska intressera sig för.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “The StoryMakers – A Writing Group for Adults

  1. The writing group I’m in got together during a creative writing course. You’re right about the benefits of being with other writers. There is something about just talking about the same issues and sharing enthusiasm. It is certainly helping my writing and my confidence.

    Posted by Pete Denton | February 2, 2012, 9:28 pm
    • Pete,
      Thanks for revisiting my blog. I certainly together with you in this! It helps me a lot to communicate with other writers, even through a blog like this. It is so helpful to get feedback like this, and I really appreciate you leaving a comment. Even if we never met, it feels like we have a lot in common, as a spiritual thread! I have a friend living a couple of hours from me, and we use to meditate together from time to time.. just making an agreement of the right time by SMS. It´´s like that I fell about you and all the fellow writers here at WordPress.
      Thanks for visits, take care of your self and write a lot!
      Maggie

      Posted by Magdalena Wiklund | February 2, 2012, 11:35 pm
  2. Sounds wonderful. I used to be part of one but times are tough and many moved on… 🙂

    Posted by eof737 | February 6, 2012, 5:28 pm

Leave a Reply

