//
you're reading...
Press This, Writing, Writing Craft, Writing Resources

The Silent Dialogue


Re-blogged; The Silent Dialogue, by Alison Gunn. The photo is presented with the courtesy of Alison Gunn.

I would really like to share this blog and especially this post with you. The Collaborative Writer is a blog written by Alison Gunn. She has worked with writers for 20 years as an editor, desktop publisher, an instructor, and she taught all kinds of writing.

Alison Gunn´s blog The Collaborative Writer offers a forum for writers, the possibility to join a website, online courses in writing, and a workshop named The Writer´s Salon. But most important, she offers really great posts about writing in which she touches the subject of writing at a really deep level close to, if not the same as, psychology.

What caught my attention most of all at Alison´s blog was the post about The Silent Dialogue. This specific post is a very personal and deep reflection about how a reader of a story starts to have a silent dialogue with the story itself and with the imagined author. Then she writes that this imagined collaborator guides us as we make sense of the story. My first reaction reading this was that I´m used to have a dialogue with the story and maybe even with its characters. But I´ve never been thinking about if I´m having a dialogue with the author of the book or not. But Alison takes it even further by suggesting that I as a reader will be talking to the piece of writing if I take notes while writing. This creates interaction with the text, and that forms a silent relationship with its author which is imagined. But most important – we just created a real relationship. Which one? you ask.

I refuse to answer that question. It would be unfair of me to just rewrite everything that Alison Gunn has written in her post. You need to read it yourself to give your tribute to Alison who wrote it, and to get the full context of its content. But you, I, and everyone else will develop as authors by reading about The Silent Dialogue, and probably even more by reading the full blog.

I will try all of Alison´s suggestions because it sounds so interesting! I believe I might find a little diamond for my writing following the suggestions in The Silent Dialogue. What will I discover? What will I say and what will I hear? How will this affect my reading and writing for the future? Will I look at it from an entirely new point of view? I don´t know, but I suggest you all read it, because this is a real high quality post!

via The Silent Dialogue. A warm Thank You to Alison Gunn who wrote the masterpiece I´m referring to on this topic.

About Magdalena Wiklund

Leg. biomedicinsk analytiker och maker. Arbetar med transfusionsmedicin till vardags, forskar på antibiotikaresistens på fritiden. Jag skapade Sveriges största site för biomedicinska analytiker därför att detta verkligen är ett fantastiskt yrke som jag hoppas att fler ska intressera sig för.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “The Silent Dialogue

  1. Walking into Words,
    I approved your comment, but I think it would be much more appropriate if you linked directly to the blog and post I re-blogged.
    You find the link in my post, at least twice.
    Maggie

    Posted by Magdalena Wiklund | February 28, 2012, 4:11 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Walking into Words (Even More on Writing Dialogue) and Theme | Poetic Mapping: Walking into Art - February 28, 2012

Leave a Reply

