//
you're reading...
Reflection, Writing, Writing Craft, Writing Process

The Reflection is A Downhill


The Oxford Book of English Short Stories

Image by dalcrose via Flickr

One of the most important things I do, as a part of my authorship, is to reflect over my writing. From time to time I pick up my finished and maybe even published work, and I look at it without any preconceived opinions. It´s a huge pleasure for me as an author being able to look at my own work from a distance, as the viewer of a creative piece of art. I don´t have to analyze, criticizes or ask myself anything about that story, haiku, prose or causerie. The writing is something that just is there, as in a book I could have bought in any store.

I´m the Audience…

When I´m done with a story it has gotten its own life, and I have to leave it to live that life as a mother who leaves her own child to become an independent adult. My story becomes a story, amongst all the other stories that has come to life through the centuries. After all that work I´ve put into my writing, I really deserve the pleasure of being its audience. Now I can listen to the story´s own unique voice in a way that was impossible during my work and responsibilities. Finally I can appreciate the story for what it really has become – a beautiful piece of magic – without even looking for its faults by involving myself into it. Finally I applaud my own work.

… with New Insights

Except pleasure it also gives me new insights. I was blind, but now I see! When I dive into one single piece of writing I dig myself really deep into it, and then it´s impossible to have a view over anything at all. Stepping back and reflecting over my work gives me perspective on what I´m doing, By knowing what I´m doing I´m making my road to the published author´s heaven straight and flat. Maybe even it´s a downhill. I´m writing a lot about that window between my reality and the world of creation, my fantasies. The thread goes through my stories into the prose and haikus, and further to the causeries without having any end. As long as I write there will only be development, no endings.

About BMA-student

BMA-student

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

THIS SITE IS PROTECTED

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Kaleidoscope at FaceBook

