//
you're reading...
Diary, Reflection, Writing, Writing Craft, Writing Process

The Trinity of Truth, Integrity and Creativity


Diary

Image by Barnaby via Flickr

I woke up this morning thinking about my blog, and especially the diary-part of it. What a pleasant way to wake up! But thinking of it I could soon see that I have a problem with my diary, and I got a bit grumpy with myself.

There are so many things I would like to write about, but I´m so afraid of tress-passing those boundaries of laws and respect to other people and myself. There´s always a risk of defamations and insult of other people, and it would probably just make me to an evil person. I don’t want to touch that. But on the other hand I´m overwhelmed by all these feelings of grief, love, hate, greed, envy, happiness, freedom and mastodon loss. I do try to hide the truth within my creative writing – my poems and stories are not always what they seem to be. However, there is a huge urge of telling the truth within my heart. The question is – what is the truth? That is a question I cannot answer, and I actually refuse to do so. This blog is mine, let it be my truth being told here.

The Problem

Thanks to my reflection I can see that a huge part of my concern is based in the fact that I haven´t structured the writing in my diary. I need to make my own very clear boundaries of where to go, and where to stay; what to write, how and why. And when or where to stop. As a part of that I need to find some really great diaries at WordPress. Therefor I´ll do some link-love today, presenting the diaries I´ll use as models when it comes to my future posts based on the trinity of truth, integrity and creativity.

Link-Love to Great Diaries (Models)

Simple Simon´s Diary: Simon presents himself as an artist and amateur writer. He writes his diary to record what happens in his life in a way that is a mixture of many different worlds. I like Simons diary because his post are so simple and deep. I think it´s Simple Simon did his post simple with purpose. There are not many words, no unnecessary words at all, but he still invites the reader to take part of his world(s) in a personal and open-minded way that makes me feel. I really feel that there is a huge truth in them, even if I as a reader have to interpret. He seems to be writing every day.

The Problem With Young People Today is… Don, or Crabby old fart, is an old man who does´t care much about young people. And he is not sure about how he feels about his readers. But he is terribly honesty when writing his post, and sometimes I don´t know if I´m supposed to laugh, cry or get upset when reading them. He´s probably one of our societies… world´s. .. biggest critiques! He targets the youth, but writes about everything – in a critical way of course – politics, humor, the lack of punctuation, food.. and he goes on and on… Maybe Don is just a made-up character, but someone is behind that character. Someone is telling their truth about everything!

oldloveaffair is a journal written by a man who writes what he feels needs to be written, the unfinished business of life. He is writing about words that never got the chance to be expressed because of lack of opportunity. The journal helps him to understand what happened, things that never made sense. Some of the things you will find in this journal is stories about relations, poems, and life in prison. Reading  the blog I felt a bit disturbed because of the truths that were told, but I also felt interested in reading more. This blog lets the reader into the blog owners mind.

The solution

I look at the diaries I have chosen to look up too, the ones making an impression on me. They all have some things in common; reading them I felt a lot, they go straight on the matter, and their authors don’t´t seem to be afraid of telling their truth. But they might be hiding behind their computers, or their characters. Having all this in mind I will develop my own diary in a way that suits me.

I will never hide myself behind a character or the computer. You can still se my name and my photo, it will always be possible to get in touch with me. But I will keep on tucking in the truth into my creative writing, so that I don´t hurt anyone. It allows me to say more than it would be possible to do if I stuck to the truth, and only the truth. The mix between reality and creativity is wonderful. I love it, because it gives me the tools to create whatever I want out of what I have in life. But I think I need more of a specific goal with my diary writing. Goals, boundaries, limitations, specifications. For the moment my diary category looks more like a bin for thrash then anything else in my blog. Therefor:

The things I will not do is to write without any goal, without knowing what I want to say. In the future I will make sure to put a lot of effort into the creative part of my diary writing. That means that I might be telling the truth, but it will be hidden behind a story, a poem, a writing exercise or something else within the theme of writing. I will reflect more about what a specific diary-post have to do with m writing. And I will keep in reflecting over my own writing, to develop myself and my work. I will play around with things as I use to do from time to time; the coins always has two sides just as any story. I´m also interested in writing down the golden days of my life – it´s not much gold in the sandpit of Kaleidoscope for the moment, is it?

About Magdalena Wiklund

Leg. biomedicinsk analytiker och maker. Arbetar med transfusionsmedicin till vardags, forskar på antibiotikaresistens på fritiden. Jag skapade Sveriges största site för biomedicinska analytiker därför att detta verkligen är ett fantastiskt yrke som jag hoppas att fler ska intressera sig för.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

