//
you're reading...
Characters, Writing, Writing Craft

My Dentist is a Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde


A chair in the dental clinic - the hospital ha...

Image via Wikipedia

Every time I visit my dentist he speaks about patients who die in the dental chair. I lay back with my mouth open, and off course it´s impossible for me to speak during the treatment. I can only listen to what´s said over my open mouth, between Mr. Dentist and his nurse. They say that speaking is silver and silence is golden, and it should be – especially for an author as me – but to be honest I´m not sure.

My dentist could have been a really interesting character in any story. While I lie there with him working in my wide oped mouth, he and his nurse starts to talk about patients that died in the dental chair. I have been there twice so far, and they get back to that same topic every time. Should I be afraid?

In a way I really appreciate to have some kind of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde as my dentist. He would fit in the genre of horror. In my mind I can see how he drills in my tooth, just to slip by accident – ops – and continue the drilling in my brain. As he said; it happens that people die in the dental chair.

About BMA-student

BMA-student

Discussion

7 thoughts on “My Dentist is a Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde

  1. They always ask questions when they’ve got your mouth open too, so there’s no way you can reply. He does sound like an interesting character. Has anyone died in HIS chair? Maybe you should ask next time, before you sit down.

    Posted by SammyDee | February 27, 2012, 5:16 pm
    • SammyDee,
      Thanks for passing by my blog, Im happy you like it.
      About my dentist; he is a real well of inspiration. I promise I will ask him next time – if I dare.. and remember 🙂 With regards from you??? 😉
      Take Care, and see you soon again,
      Maggie

      Posted by Magdalena Wiklund | February 27, 2012, 5:20 pm
  2. Uh, pretty scary and to me it was nice reading it a couple of minutes ago. It’s dark outside and 6 degrees Celsius cold, moonlight and earlier this night it was a aurora over the nothern sky (I live in Scandinavia). Reading your story under those circumstances was a special experience. And yes, you really go some raw material to a caracter in this dentist…

    Good Luck with your further writing!

    Posted by Stefan Hägg | February 27, 2012, 10:52 pm
    • Stefan Hägg,
      Reading your name I guess your in the same country as me? Sweden? Yeh, your emailadress ends with se….
      Thanks for passing by my blogg. Im happy you like it. Do you write? What is you favorite genre?
      Hope to see you again,
      Maggie

      Posted by Magdalena Wiklund | February 27, 2012, 10:59 pm
      • Aha, somehowe I figured out that you lived abroad a long way from Scandinavia, don’t know why actually. No, I’m not a swede even if I’m swedish. I live at Åland Islands and I’m not a writer but I have always been interested in writing and always wanted to write. Now I’m trying to learn more about the croft writing! That’s why I’m sneaking around here and at “Skrivarsidan”.

        (Kunde ju ta detta på svenska, men andra icke svenskspråkiga kanske vill förstå)

        Posted by Stefan Hägg | February 27, 2012, 11:07 pm
      • Stefan Hägg,
        It doesn’t matter for me, Swedish or English. I have been living in Australia for 4 years, maybe you read that at my blog, and thought Im somewhere down under? 🙂
        Maggie

        Posted by Magdalena Wiklund | February 27, 2012, 11:09 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Why I Hate Going To The Dentist’s!!! « MyWordYourEar.com - March 30, 2012

Leave a Reply

THIS SITE IS PROTECTED

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Kaleidoscope at FaceBook

