//
you're reading...
Reflection, Writing, Writing Craft, Writing Process

Re-Cycling My Writing


International Recycling Symbol 32px|alt=W3C|li...

Image via Wikipedia

My writing seems to go in cycles; I´m writing prose for a couple of days, then I´m into diaries and reflection for some time. It feels as if my prose takes me out at deep water, it makes me tired – almost excused – and now I finally reached an island. It´s time to rest and reflect.

My writing is a reflection of me, it changes when I change. Is it then possible to write something that isn´t me with the purpose to change myself? My writing is mostly deep and dark, just as I am as a person. It shows who and how I am for that particular moment. So any time I need to get in touch with myself the only thing I need to do is to write. Then I will see what´s inside of me; pain, darkness, confusion or scariness. But what if I really worked on lovely poems about love, pink colors and softness? Would that change me, would that make me a smiling autumn-loving girl who just loves early mornings and to hug every poor suffering person who lets their aggression oppress me? I´m interested in trying that, but I´m not sure my writing would be that good if I did. I´ll see what I´ll do.

About Magdalena Wiklund

Leg. biomedicinsk analytiker och maker. Arbetar med transfusionsmedicin till vardags, forskar på antibiotikaresistens på fritiden. Jag skapade Sveriges största site för biomedicinska analytiker därför att detta verkligen är ett fantastiskt yrke som jag hoppas att fler ska intressera sig för.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Re-Cycling My Writing

  1. Hmmm, tricky question Magdalena. Maybe if you were successful at writing in a different style, that would mean you’d simply tapped into a different part of your character? My blog is much more light hearted than my novel writing and I’ve always wondered why that is, yet can’t seem to do either of them any differently. And, I enjoy doing both equally. Haven’t really helped there have I?!

    Posted by Jackie Buxton | March 15, 2012, 2:38 am
    • Jackie Buxton,
      Thanks for your warm feedback. Haha… I don’t expect any answers, it´s rather like this; the more answers I get the more questions I have. But it is really an interesting topic that we write in different styles depending on what ww write. Thanks for visiting, and please come back.
      Maggie

      Posted by Magdalena Wiklund | March 15, 2012, 4:08 pm

Leave a Reply

