//
you're reading...
Characters, Writing, Writing Craft

Fool Making Workshop


Depiction of a jester by William Merritt Chase

Depiction of a jester by William Merritt Chase (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

How many times during your life time have you made a fool of  your self? And how many of those times did you think that it´s only you doing those kind of stupid things, nobody else would…?  I did exactly that today. No, I will not tell you what I did (you wish). But suddenly I realized some really important things for my life and for my writing.

When I make a fool of my self, I change perspective; from my perspective to the perspective I think the others have. I lose sense of myself, and become the others. I´m in their minds, creating their feelings, their thoughts and sometimes also their actions. “Now, when I did this, she will for sure talk about me in a negative way, and she will hate me forever, and I´m sure she thinks I´m crazy.” This is what we are doing when we make a fool of our selves; we join the others and bully ourselves. Take back your own perspective, and be happy with yourself again.

Why am I telling you this? Because I´m talking about characters in stories. Our lives are stories. You, me, and all the others are its characters. Again, I´m not sure where the boundaries between life making and story telling is. Have you ever seen a characters from one of your stories sit on a bench in real life? It happens, you just know – it´s him! And how many times have the people surrounding you walked into your story to become a part of it, to be its character? Uninvited! It happens all the time.

To know what we are doing to our selves when making a fool of ourselves gives us a perfect chance to do it again, again and again – in our stories. I love when the main character of a story makes an idiot out of herself. The disaster is complete, and as a reader I´m really enjoying time. Then off course, if you realize what you´re doing to yourself you can always get the power to change that, if you would like to. Or even better, make another disaster by making that fool of yourself – and have fun!

About BMA-student

BMA-student

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Fool Making Workshop

  1. Your post is so true. How often I enjoy characters in a story because they do something silly or unusual. I like it when they are rebels and do something other than the “status quo”. And, I believe that in real life, people actually like when we, too, do something different, even if it is idiotic. It makes us human, approachable, and often, likeable. You have enriched my perspective today. Thank you for your inspiring thoughts! 🙂

    Posted by bigsmileu1 | March 26, 2012, 12:25 am
    • bigsmileu1,
      Thanks for your feedback, you´re really making me want to write more! I´m happy my blogging gives you something, it also gives me a lot to write it, but even more to get all this kind feedback. Yes, indeed it makes us human to be fools from time to time.
      /Maggie

      Posted by Magdalena Wiklund | March 26, 2012, 1:47 am
  2. Very well said, being an idiot is something I have mastered fairly well, but in those, oops I have learned a lot and yes changed things for myself ….or not…Thanks for this.

    Posted by Daisy | March 26, 2012, 5:21 am
    • Dear Daisy,
      I´m glad to hear that this post gave you an opportunity to recognize yourself, while I´m writing about myself 🙂
      Life is indeed mysterious, as we learn and maybe change by doing things that makes us feel ashamed, LOL.
      Maggie

      Posted by Magdalena Wiklund | March 26, 2012, 10:02 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: You made me do it you fool! « HOW TO MAN UP - March 29, 2012

Leave a Reply

THIS SITE IS PROTECTED

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Kaleidoscope at FaceBook

