//
you're reading...
Miscellaneous, Writing, Writing Craft, Writing Exercise

Re-peating, Re-peating and Re-writing!


Music repeat symbol

Music repeat symbol (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I´m a couple of minutes late with this post. Sorry, for that. I´ve just done a 6 hour long marathon by writing an essay in natural science. Deadline was by midnight! I was actually sitting in front of my computer nonstop, writing, writing, writing…  I wish I could do it like that with my creative writing also *sigh* But on the other hand, I´m happy with my creative writing, not with the essay. Can´t get everything, can you?

I´ll give you a writing exercise tonight. Chose a word that you know you use a lot when writing. For example, I overused the world “fantastic” in my novel, so I had to correct that. What word are you overusing when writing? What word is used by too many of your characters? What word is written in most of your chapters?

Now – find as many synonyms to that word as you can. You might even make up entirely new words, the creativity of this exercise is up to you. The point with this exercise is to find a way not to repeat your selft when writing. And have fun!

About BMA-student

BMA-student

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Re-peating, Re-peating and Re-writing!

  1. Hi, Magdalena…. it’s always great to see your posts pop up in my inbox, and it keeps me thinking about writing, which is good! One question, though—do you mean *synonyms* or *synonymous* in the above? I’m wondering if I’m misreading it, or misunderstanding it, or whether it’s just a vocabulary choice, you know? Okay, take care! (I don’t mean to be a critic right now, but I caught that and wanted to clarify!) Thanks!

    Posted by Alison Gunn, Ph.D. | March 30, 2012, 2:32 am
    • Hi Alison Gunn,
      I am so pleased to hear that my post gives you so much happiness and encouragement when it come to writing. Off course I meant synonyms, I will change that immediately. Thanks! I appreciate that comment, sinceEnglish isn´t my native language. Take Care, and see you soon
      Maggie

      Posted by Magdalena Wiklund | March 30, 2012, 9:08 am
  2. Bra tips! Ska testa det på en text lite senare. Redan nu vet jag att jag använder visa ord för mycket; kändes, blicken, magen, ögonen …

    Posted by jonnaberggren | March 30, 2012, 10:11 am
    • Jonna Berggren,
      Javisst är det en bra övning, och ibland kan den vara himla rolig att göra. Framför allt om man tillåter sig själv att vara kreativ. Låt mig gärna veta hur det gick.
      Skriver du nåt längre, nåt som ska bli en bok?
      Tack för att du tittade förbi!
      Magdalena

      Posted by Magdalena Wiklund | March 30, 2012, 5:42 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Fictive Words « Kaleidoscope - April 1, 2012

  2. Pingback: Welcome to the World of Scribbles and Dribbles « Next Generation Dribble - April 4, 2012

Leave a Reply

THIS SITE IS PROTECTED

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Kaleidoscope at FaceBook

