//
you're reading...
Miscellaneous, Writing, Writing Craft, Writing Exercise

Fictive Words


Old Hungarian script called the "Beszterc...

Old Hungarian script called the "Besztercei szójegyzék" (list of words from Beszterce) dating to the 15th century (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The day before yesterday I gave you a writing exercise named Re-peating, Re-peating and Re-writing. It was about finding as many synonyms as possible to one single word. I mentioned that you also can use your creativity to  create new words. I would like to talk a bit more about that today.

Since English isn´t my native language, I sometimes find it hard to find the right word to use in a certain situation. During an English lesson in Australia I once told my English teacher that:

I feel lolliness.

He got confused, and asked me what I meant. I realized that I had made up a word on my own. What I meant was that I want something sweet, lollies. Lollies are the same as candy, at least in my world. And if I can feel loneliness, why not feel lolliness? My teacher laughed, and I made up another – correct sentence.

But now, when it comes to our creative writing – let´s be as un-correct as possible. Many fictive words are easy to understand in their right context, so why not make them up and use them? Let´s make up new words to use when we write. I made up lolliness, what is your new word?

About Magdalena Wiklund

Leg. biomedicinsk analytiker och maker. Arbetar med transfusionsmedicin till vardags, forskar på antibiotikaresistens på fritiden. Jag skapade Sveriges största site för biomedicinska analytiker därför att detta verkligen är ett fantastiskt yrke som jag hoppas att fler ska intressera sig för.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

