//
you're reading...
Creative Writing, Miscellaneous, Stories, Writing, Writing Resources

The Reality of Saga


Södertälje Festen 6561

Södertälje Festen 6561 (Photo credit: Majsan of Sweden)

As a teenager I had an idol, as most teenagers have. Mine was a Swedish pop-rock singer named Tommy Nilsson. I adored him in every way. As soon as he came to my town to sing, I bought a ticket. Then I bought a red rose, every single time. He sang, I gave him my rose, and then he kissed my lips. My heart burned! I sent letters, cards to his place, I stood outside clubs, always dressed in black so that he would recognize me, the lady in black waiting for him to turn up – prepared to freeze to death if I had to. Once I even threw myself around his neck, screaming out my love for him all over the foyer, when he came out to write autographs. Five years of my life were crazy, fun, and something to remember for the rest of my life.

In 1994 – I was then 19 years old and on my way to let go of this adoration – he released an disc named “One Woman’s Man.” There was a song with that particular name on it, and the text started like this; “Ladies in red, ladies in black... ” Again, my heart was burning! He was singing about me! I just knew it, for sure. I was that lady in black!

Sometimes life becomes a fairy tale. The things you could never imagine happens, and they happen to you. Do you remember that in you´re writing? Is there really any boundaries between the saga and the thing we call reality? Is life something that goes on, no matter what we think or do, or is it our own creation that happens as we live, as we want it to be? Is there anything we cannot do? Is there anything we cannot write?

I never asked him if he really sang about me, or if it was a coincident. I never will. As the creator I am, as any writer, of my own life – my own saga – I prefer to create the story I want to live. Within my heart, that song is still for me. My life continues. The song continues. “A lady like you is never right.” And he´s right; we were never meant to each other. But he passed my life and became a part of a saga.

Licence terms of photo; Read.

About BMA-student

BMA-student

Discussion

3 thoughts on “The Reality of Saga

  1. Wow! Who knows if the song really was about you?! Before the blog I’d have said, naah, but you know, why not? Singers, like writers, have to get their inspiration from somewhere! My mind’s constantly away with the fairies so yes, I should say that the line between reality and fiction is very faint for me!

    Posted by Jackie Buxton | April 4, 2012, 11:32 am
    • Dear Jackie Buxton,
      Thanks for passing by my blog. Yeh, the thought of him writing about me is thrilling, isn´t it? 🙂 But I really want it to stay there, as a thought within my heart where I can make it the thought I want 🙂 It´s nice to hear from another fellow writer, tell me, where do you get your inspiration from? I get mine from life, and most of all from the extremes of life. Much darkness, some pure light and happiness 🙂 By the way, another post I have write – Golden Tress – is also about my experience of this particular singer.
      Hope to see you soon, I´ll pass by your blog and have a look.
      Maggie

      Posted by Magdalena Wiklund | April 4, 2012, 6:29 pm
  2. Hi Maggie, I shall check out Golden Tress! For my blog,my inspiration certainly comes from the bizarre and quirky things that happen from just, well, being really! I try to mix up a more serious post with a more amusing one next time but generally, I’m governed by what’s happening in my life, what mess I’ve got myself into this time 🙂 . Inspiration for my novels does come from people but also from more specific incidents. My completed MS came from my reaction to a couple of incidents in the news and the public outcry which surrounded them and my second (WIP) came from an article in the newspaper and a chililng photo of a tombstone standing all alone.
    Off to Golden Tress…!

    Posted by Jackie Buxton | April 5, 2012, 7:14 am

Leave a Reply

THIS SITE IS PROTECTED

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Kaleidoscope at FaceBook

