//
you're reading...
Genre, Writing, Writing Craft

What´s The Point of Writing?


British Library MS Royal 17 B xliii Folio 134r

British Library MS Royal 17 B xliii Folio 134r (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Being at the editing stage of my novel is exciting, but also a bit scary. Will this be good enough? Will my readers clap their hand or be confused? It happens, from time to time, that people ask me – what do you mean but his? And off course, writing any kind of story it is really important to know where I´m heading, what I want to say with whatever I have written. I´m pretty sure I´ve done a great job with my novel, with clear points.

The Point of Prose

But then, when it comes to prose it´s all different. Sometimes I write poetry that make myself confused. I don´t always know what I want with the piece, it just seems to be a really great piece, an interesting mixture of words that says something. What it says is really up to the reader to decide. That´s what I think. But as a part of the writing group at KSP I actually read a piece of prose named The Murder of a Crocus. And immediately I was ask – what do you want to say with this? I had no answer. Is prose really a genre that that requires its author that know what´s being said, or is it enough to say; it´s a pice of art?

About BMA-student

BMA-student

Discussion

4 thoughts on “What´s The Point of Writing?

  1. I do think you need to know what you’re doing (consciously) at some point in the process. It might not come to you immediately—it has taken me many years to understand the underlying issues in my dissertation, for example. It could take months or even years to come up with the best title for a piece of work—maybe what the writer chooses at first doesn’t actually say what it needs to, to get its message across to the reader? There are many variables and I don’t think it’s at all necessary to force your writing to be “finished” just because you say you’re done with it. Sometimes, when you come back to it, with a fresh brain, as I like to call it, you’ll see something you didn’t notice before. This is why the word re-vision means to “re-see” something. When we revise, we re-see our writing with new eyes, and that can be very helpful. I just don’t think writers need to pressure themselves/ourselves the way we do, to desire that the piece of writing be “perfect”, meaning “absolutely the best writing I can possibly do in this lifetime” each and every time.

    Posted by Alison Gunn, Ph.D. | April 14, 2012, 8:04 am
    • Alison Gunn,
      Thanks for your thoughtful comment. I agree with you, and I have experienced it also. Writing takes time, and I do come back with a refreshed mind form time to time, which makes me wee new things and perspectives all the rime. Thanks for reminding me, see you soon again.
      Maggie

      Posted by Magdalena Wiklund | April 15, 2012, 4:36 pm
  2. To me the essence of writing – and writing anything – is knowing what to say and then controlling the nature of that expression. It is a learned skill, one that cannot be picked up from books or lessons. The basic principles can be taught; but getting good at it is only possible one way – through hard work. Through doing.

    Quite often I find when writing that I’ll come up with new meanings, thoughts or questions. That demands revision. To me the written piece is a living thing, something that can be re-shaped, re-polished as required. The ultimate purpose of writing – as in all forms of human expressive art – is to provoke emotion in the reader. So if you’ve written something that provokes an emotion – be it confusion or otherwise – then, to me, that means the writing has worked. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Matthew Wright
    http://mjwrightnz.wordpress.com
    http://www.matthewwright.net

    Posted by Matthew Wright | April 15, 2012, 12:56 am
    • Dear Mathew Wright,
      Sorry for my late answer to your comment, I have been over seas and the when I came back it was full on.
      I fully agree with you, that the writing is living and experienced. My writing usually do awakes feelings within my readers.
      It´s good as long as i write, but sometimes I fell blocked…. Especially when it´s too much around me at one time.
      Thanks or reading and thanks for your kind comment.
      Maggie

      Posted by Magdalena Wiklund | April 16, 2012, 10:19 pm

Leave a Reply

