//
you're reading...
Miscellaneous, Writing, Writing Craft, Writing Process

Grief – A Part of My Writing Process


Grief

Grief (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My last post, about being between success and defeat, made me understand how close I really am to the success. But with the understanding of that I also got a huge surprise! With the success follows grief.

I have really fallen in love with the city I´m writing about, its people and their stories. Do I really want to leave them? Pretty often I still find myself wandering around the streets of the city in my book, talking to the characters I created, and I love the smell and noises of the city, I love the people who lives there – and the plot. I´m simply not done yet.

I´m really surprised to see that there is grief as a natural part of my writing process. I´ve never been thinking about grief as a part of the process, but rather as something to write about. Now I´m almost feeling as if a close family member would be dying. And I´m having so many different thoughts about what will happen with this magic place and its people, and how I will handle that.

Maybe I don´t have to grief too long. I will keep on visiting that fantastic place, with all those fantastic people, I will see what they are doing and keep on talking with them. If there is anything more to tell, I will be given the story piece by piece. If there´s nothing more to tell, they will fade away, slowly, and a new story will evolve within my mind. Or nothing will change; they stay within my mind for ever, as a good place to visit whenever I wish. I´m so in love 🙂

About BMA-student

BMA-student

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Grief – A Part of My Writing Process

  1. Think of the grief as a tap into the emotional reservoir you rely upon to make your poetry passionate. Use it, abuse it, and share it with your readers. Peace…:)

    Posted by bigsmileu1 | April 19, 2012, 1:28 am
    • bigsmileu1,
      I wills share it, I promise – when I´m ready to do so. Or maybe – in the way I want. For the moment I´m really enjoying that feeling for being in love with this place and its people, at the same time as I´m feeling a bit of pain and grief. Love and grief seems to be different sides of the same coin. But yes, I will use it – and ABUSE it 🙂
      Thanks for your comment.
      Maggie

      Posted by Magdalena Wiklund | April 19, 2012, 3:35 pm
  2. bigsmiuleu1,
    and one more thing… you are suggesting making the grief to something to write about. I know that part already. The interesting thing now, as I mention, is that grief has become a clear part of my process. That´s the new and interesting and in a way also fun thing about it. Certainly developing!
    When I´m ready to transfer it into a topic to write about – I will.
    Maggie

    Posted by Magdalena Wiklund | April 19, 2012, 3:40 pm
  3. When I finished writing my first novel, I missed my “friends” so much – yes, I did grieve. I can so relate to your feelings expressed here.

    Posted by Martha Orlando | April 19, 2012, 7:22 pm
  4. Du är inte ensam. Läsarna kommer att vandra omkring där med dig och prata med dina karaktärer. Man blir “kär” i sin skapelse. Jag skriver fantasy och är kär i det land Isporten utspelar sig, så kär att jag beslutat att skriva en fortsättning. Världen och karaktärerna är ju redan uppfunna. Jag vet författare som, även om de inte skriver serier, låter sina karaktärer från olika böcker möta varandra (även om det bara är så att de går förbi varandra på gatan). Lycka till!

    Posted by jonnaberggren | April 19, 2012, 10:52 pm
    • Jonna Berggren,
      Tack för din fina kommentar. Roligt att höra att du delar min upplevelse. Visst är det härligt att veta att möjligheten till het kärlek är så nära tillhands! När som helst, var som helst! För mig är känslan av förälskelse i min egen skapelse en belöning, en bekräftelse på gott utfört arbete. Och tack för att du nämnde idén om att olika karaktärer från olika historier kan mötas, visst kan de det om så bara för ett ögonkast.
      Magdalena

      Posted by Magdalena Wiklund | April 19, 2012, 11:01 pm

Leave a Reply

