//
you're reading...
Diary, Writing Resources

A Curse and A Blessing


Magnum (ice cream)

Magnum (ice cream) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

To get sick can be a blessing and a curse. There is pain, discomfort, tiredness, grumpiness… but also the fact that I can eat whatever I want to eat, and spend the whole day in front of the TV. It´s amazing to see how the attitude suddenly changes; the most simple program is suddenly fun!

I have eaten 4 ice creams so far, having a couple of more to go. I don´t know how many films, TV-shows and serials I have been watching, but it is a lot. The mystique serial Dallas with J.R, Bobby Ewing and Sue Ellen is still fun to watch. Some things never change! Then we (me and my husband) watched “A Thousand Words” with Eddie Murphy. It´s a comedy, and I usually don´t like comedies. But as I wrote, being sick can be a real blessing. I also loved the depth of the film; it has a point. Eddie plays a character who lies a lot. Making a promise to a guru he is blessed (or cursed) with a magic tree in his garden. For every word Eddie speaks, one leaf drops. And what happens when a tree´s all leafs has dropped? It dies! And so will Eddie. Obviously something has to change… The most important message from the film was; I forgive you.

Being sick I really have the time to think of forgiveness, but also about the gifts I have in my life. Some things are easily seen as a curse, but it might end up being the biggest blessing I ever got! So, it´s time to refresh and change my point of view; maybe the curses are nothing but ghosts in our lives? Maybe everything that happens – no matter how painful it might be – is a blessing?

About BMA-student

BMA-student

Discussion

3 thoughts on “A Curse and A Blessing

  1. Hope you are feeling better soon. 🙂

    Posted by bigsmileu1 | August 3, 2012, 6:47 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: God’s blessings in life | - August 4, 2012

Leave a Reply

THIS SITE IS PROTECTED

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Kaleidoscope at FaceBook

